12 Comments
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Lisa Carmen Wang

I feel similarly around late-Jan through early March. Thank you for this reminder to judge ourselves less harshly and be accepting of dips in happiness. Knowing others feel similarly makes the experience feel less cold and isolating.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for being open Heather - I'd say that's a similar time frame for me too. You're not alone. Sending *hugs*

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Lisa Carmen Wang

Yes! I feel the same way. Thought it was only me. At this exact moment I'm feeling kind of lost not knowing what to do next. I know I don't have to plan the whole road ahead but I would like to know what my next step should be. Being more specific, I have a company that is going ok but not as good as expected. I'm not sure if I should keep putting all my efforts on that or pursue other opportunities or desires. Any advice on that?

Expand full comment
author

Hi Erika, I've definitely been there before in terms of feeling restless and confused as to whether to keep pushing or let something go. It's important to get to the root of why you are feeling hesitant right now.

The most critical question to ask yourself is if you are still truly passionate about the mission of your current company. When there are things like continual stress/lack of progress, it can result in feelings of burnout, helplessness, wanting to give up. In reality, these things are usually temporary, and with patience, focus, and hard work, you will usually be able to overcome them... that is, only if you are truly passionate about your company's greater mission.

On the flip side, if you realize that your company mission does not fundamentally inspire you at your core, does not motivate you to to keep pushing, that's when you should re-evaluate if it's actually worth going down this particular path.

Ultimately, pursue the path that that feels most aligned with YOU - there will always be friction on any path so don't let lack of short-term progress deter you - but if you don't feel it's personally the right fit anymore, it's okay to let something go - that's bravery as well!

Expand full comment
Feb 4, 2020Liked by Lisa Carmen Wang

Thank you Lisa this is really useful. I've just set a couple of hours on my schedule to think about this and make a decision as soon as possible.

Expand full comment

Yep. February can feel pretty rough, and into March as well. It seems the uplift in mood happens for me when we change the clocks again because the light shifts...and my birthday is not far around the corner :). Like you, I have to be mindful of and allow for it. I also try to plan in a retreat if I can (preferably to somewhere warm), build some novelty into my schedule to provide a boost and stay connected with people. -Jason Van Orden

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for sharing Jason - I've also realized I love light, so it's good to be reminded that there's a specific day to look forward to with Daylight Savings on March 8th! Love your focus on novelty and connection as grounding forces. What are some of your favorite retreat places within the US?

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2020Liked by Lisa Carmen Wang

Well, the easy flight from NYC at that time of year to get some warmth is Florida. That's done the trick for me in the past. I wouldn't mind changing it up. I've thought about flying to a close-by Carribean Island as well. I also love going back to Portland where I lived for six years but not so much in February :).

Expand full comment
author

I've seen suggestions for Austin recently as another alternative!

Expand full comment

WE ARE IN BAD NEED FOR GLOBAL COOPERATION

Expand full comment

The winter blues are real - I feel similarly every time January and February roll around in NYC. Right now, I am at a moment of indecision after months of research. I've been looking into several different ideas on companies I'd like to start. In every industry I look, there is always someone already doing something similar to what I have thought about.

I'm curious to hear how you would go about:

1. Validating that your idea is something that people would find useful and ultimately pay for. After all, without a sound way of eventually making revenue, the company will not survive.

2. Settling on an idea, despite a similar product existing out there. How can we know if the difference in our product is enough to make a difference, both in terms of impact and number of people interested in using your product?

I am finding it difficult to commit to an idea when there are so many that interest me and could have potential! When do you pull the trigger and focus on a single product? Thanks for your advice :)

Expand full comment

I would like to encourage you to take a walk down the bread aisle. How many different types of loads of bread do you see? Several types right, look at your concept and think of a way it can stand out....don't give up, become strategic.

Expand full comment