18 Comments

Thank you for sharing, inspiring and creating the space with this prompt and more, Lisa Carmen! As I think about the next 5 years, I first find myself reflecting on the past 5 years.

I am most thankful for the people that are now in my life. The deep conversations I have had with them, and also the opportunities to make progress together...

When I lost my Dad in 2006, it really forced me to grow up. I used to learn so much from him But, when he passed away, I lost that ability to learn and connect as we did not have many “home videos, etc"

Now as a podcaster, I am so grateful to have the lucky opportunity to record conversation/podcasts with people that inspire me. I would like to do more of this in the future, and help others do the same.

I find myself most happy when I am in service of people and causes I care about. Going forward, I would like to do more of this, as opposed to societal pressure of more money and a better title.

Also, I would like to write a book. The written word is precious and powerful. Even if no one reads it, it would be a powerful learning exercise and something that I would be proud of. I would also like to do this with a group of friends as well.

Thanks again for sharing, supporting, and inspiring in so many ways, Lisa Carmen!

Expand full comment
author

Hi David, thank you for your thoughtful reflection! I can only imagine how difficult the passing of your father must have been. It's great that you have turned that into something meaningful as you record the conversations and connect with the people that truly ignite passion within you. It's great how much you care about serving others, it comes across! Excited to learn more about the book you want to write :)

Expand full comment

Thank you so much Lisa Carmen!

Expand full comment
Feb 2, 2020Liked by Lisa Carmen Wang

Thank you with all my heart Lisa and all of you amazing Self-Love Challengers. I have been on this journey with you and for the first time in a while, I am full of hope and valuable new tools. I took time to do the Ideal Self Visualization again today and it is remarkable how it changes my whole outlook on my day, let alone the next year. I feel the courage to keep challenging my old stories and move more and more into my authentic self each day. I'm saying "YES" to what brings me joy and what feels fluid and in alignment with who I am. I'll be continuing to practice this one day at a time. THANK YOU, Lisa! For creating the GLOW Self-Love Challenge and inspiring me to gently step out of my comfort zone and my deep gratitude to all of you for your vulnerability and encouragement. PRICELESS!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Sara, that is incredible to hear! I'm so happy the self-love challenge and the visualization have been so powerful for you. Thank you for showing up every day and committing to yourself, I'm excited to continue supporting you in your journey wherever it may lead you. <3

Expand full comment

Thank you Lisa!! That means the world to me. I’m grateful I don’t have to go this alone 👊💖

Expand full comment

Lisa- When you stop the pushing and fighting you are available to connect with your higher purpose. The true state of flow is not just about productivity, it is being aligned with ALL THAT IS. This is truly heaven on earth. I am in a unique position everyone in my family has "died" I am the last of my line. Yet they are all with me ...all the time. When I ask they are there... when I am open they are there...not in the same way of course but in many ways more powerful. When the body is gone ...and it spends a mere 70-90 years here, if you are lucky ...the soul lives on. Spirit doesn't die the body just expires and a new story begins. The only solution is to be present all else is living in a state of fear (contracted) vs love (expanded). Pushing and fighting feel good when you are not comfortable receiving and being in the stillness where you can be a receiver. Get up before the sun, meditate, be kind to your body and work less... all that you seek is already inside you...allow it the SPACE TO ACTUALIZE. I love that you shared this honest and beautiful post.

Expand full comment
author

Karin, I love your point about alignment! It's taken a long time for me to realize that productivity isn't the end all be all... still a work in progress, but certainly the awareness that you can find alignment by receiving, by slowing down is a revelation in and of itself. Thank you for sharing about your family - it takes a lot of strength to get to an expanded state and recognize how to connect with them even when they aren't physically here. <3

Expand full comment

I love this discussion - xo

Expand full comment
Jan 31, 2020Liked by Lisa Carmen Wang

I remind myself at least four times a day that I am going to die. That my nieces and all their little friends are going to die. That nothing is permanent. I remind myself of the meaningless of reality and my own life, so I can choose whatever I want to give it meaning. That is what I do. Sometimes the stress of trying to give my life meaning is a lot as I have moonshot goals. However, I can gently remind myself that saving 100 or 100 Billion lives doesn't matter. They are all going to die anyway and reality will one day, likely, blink out completely. Not to mention the day when the last human being closes their eyes.

Thinking I have only 5 years left makes me want to fight harder for what life means to me.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Adam, everything you say is true - it's all so fleeting. I find it often hard to balance the simultaneous feeling of meaning & meaninglessness, but the point you make that you therefore "can choose whatever I want to give it meaning" is where our power truly lies. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and cheers to you creating a purposeful and fulfilled life.

Expand full comment
Jan 31, 2020Liked by Lisa Carmen Wang

Lisa- I read your email and felt similar about things I’d change- but here is mine- I’ve actually been thinking about this a lot, less in the context of my death, but the death of my ambition, which in many ways is the same and the first wave of shedding life’s armor. I imagine a virgin me, innocent and childlike, before I understood what I now know drives me, my wounds and my dramas, my family of origin and my beliefs and stories. At 55 I’m starting to pick these apart and am recovering from my own hand, as I am my “abuser”. Today, I’m dressed and look like an attractive middle aged woman, not quite the Jenny Kaye or Goop look, but you get the feel- casual insouciant! But underneath this look there are other uniforms and costumes: my CEO armor, my “daughter/ father” punch in the gut protection layer, my “sister/ Brother” Watch your ego Sweater, my girlfriend scarf, my employee kid gloves, my friends and neighbors overcoat.. so many layers- once the super hero cape is folded like the flag, as I get close to my skin, fully nude I am revealed- my mother hips and breasts, my lover’s heart And loins, my humanity’s back. The real me is this me- naked. As I add back the layers, I’m clear I want lighter ones, warmer days, filmier flowy fabrics, curlier hair, bare feet, and pen, paper, books, scents, cups, hot drinks and cold ones, comfy chairs, good lighting, amazing music. More chanting, humming, vibrating. More slow moments. More quietness and more aliveness. More contributions of experience then lifting and sorting and pushing and proving and prodding. More love, more loving, more passion as a priority over purpose as a learning tool.

Thanks for asking!

Expand full comment

Hi Laura, I am deeply thinking about your comment on "death of ambition" - powerful. Thank you for sharing.

It seems like you truly are thinking about all of this and... already making progress! Your framing of love and loving as a learning tool is incredible. Thank you.

Expand full comment

Thank you! It’s so nice to hear it connected

Expand full comment
author

Hi Laura, thank you so much for sharing such a meaningful reflection. I love this sense of shedding your layers and getting to your true spirit in all its naked glory. Isn't it interesting how the quietness and the slowness is where the aliveness really is? I love your focus on experience vs "pushing, proving, prodding" - which is something we all do in excess, it seems. So happy you're experiencing all of this, and love the casual insouciance :)

Expand full comment

thanks for the moment of self reflection. You are a gem!

Expand full comment

It’s my humble duty and pleasure to share my experience. Life is awful beautiful. And sometimes it tastes like magic.

Expand full comment

Hi Adam, I love that "it tastes like magic".... cheers to more of that!

Expand full comment